Conservation areas

Conservation areas are designated for their special architectural and historic interest and are designed to protect the buildings and trees that come within them.

There are 21 conservation areas within Broadland and 52 within South Norfolk.

There are many different types including:

  • parts of our historic towns and villages
  • 18th and 19th-century suburbs
  • model housing estates
  • country houses set in their historic parks