New Honorary Aldermen for South Norfolk

James Easter presenting new honorary alderman

Six of South Norfolk's finest former public servants have been enrolled as Honorary Aldermen after giving years of notable service to the community.

On Monday South Norfolk Councillors assembled in their Council Chamber for a special meeting to hold only their fifth ever Honorary Aldermanic service.

The Council voted unanimously to confer the title on:

  • Yvonne Bendle
  • Vivienne Clifford-Jackson
  • Christopher Kemp
  • Jeremy Savage
  • Joe Mooney
  • Florence Ellis

Each former Councillor was called forward to accept the title, they received a framed certificate, and their name will now be included in the Alderman book recording their honour. They also received a badge of office.

Chairman, Councillor James Easter said:

"This is our way of saying thank you to each and every person for their public service, and more widely it is our way of underlining to our community that self-sacrifice and service without prejudice are not empty words, but values we live by and uphold.”

To qualify for the honour, you must no longer be a Member of the Council and have confirmed you will not stand again.

You must have "rendered eminent, or notable, service generally, or by service as Chairman, Cabinet Member, or a Chairman of a Council Committee or holding one or more senior positions on the Council in any political group".

The Aldermanic Review Panel reports to the Council with no more than six names recommended for conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman in each four year term of the administration.

An Honorary Alderman is entitled to be addressed in that way, to wear the Badge of Office of Honorary Alderman on Civic occasions and when they die, to have the Council Flag flown at half mast in their honour.

Published: 17 October 2023